Skip to content

Miami Art Week 2026  /  Sun & Sand

Miami Art Week · November 30 to December 6, 2026

Sun and sand · Miami Art Week 2026

The Beach, and What to Pack

December light, a nine-mile Beachwalk, one small bag, and the honest state of the causeways.

Dec4–62026

Next edition

Art Basel Miami Beach

Opens Dec 4, 2026

December weather and light

Seventy-Nine Degrees, Dark by Six

The first surprise of Art Week is the clock. Miami Beach in early December has the earliest sunsets of its year: the sun rises at 6:50 am on December 1 and sets at 5:29 pm, according to the US Naval Observatory, and sunset holds within a minute of that all week. The main fair closes at 6 pm. Visitors who stay to the end walk out into night.

The second surprise is how mild that night is. WeatherSpark’s averages for the start of the month put the daily high near 79°F and the low near 68°F, with a breeze of about 12 mph, mostly from the east. The chance of a wet day is about 18%, roughly one day in five. December opens South Florida’s dry season, which the National Park Service dates from December through April.

The sea is swimmable. Sources differ on how warm, from 74.7°F to 79°F; mid-to-upper 70s, about 24 to 26°C, is a fair expectation. The best of the beach day comes before the fairs open at 11 am.

One seasonal worry can be set down. The city’s king tide calendar lists no window in December; the last predicted one ends on November 26, four days before Art Week begins.

Miami Beach shoreline panorama
The beach at Miami Beach. In Art Week the light lasts from about 6:50 am to 5:29 pm. Photo: Thomas Conté, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0.

The beaches

Sand by Street Number

The beach is easiest to describe by cross street, since the sand runs the length of the island and the numbered streets end at it. The Beachwalk, a continuous paved path completed in June 2022, runs nine miles from South Pointe Park to 87th Street and is open 24 hours. It is the best route between fairs that involves no vehicle.

5th to 14th Street: Lummus Park

This is the South Beach of the postcards and, for one week, of two art fairs. Lummus Park runs along Ocean Drive from 5th Street to 14th Place, open from sunrise to midnight, with restrooms at 6th, 10th, and 14th Streets. InScope pitches its pavilions on the sand at 8th Street and Untitled Art at 12th. Between them, at 9th Street, is Muscle Beach, an outdoor gym open from 7:30 am, which offers the week’s only free performance art before breakfast.

The 20s: The Convention Center’s Beach

For visitors based at the main fair, the nearest sand lies east of Collins Park and The Bass, around 21st Street. By the map it is a few blocks from the convention center doors. Collins Park holds Art Basel’s outdoor project this year.

South Pointe and the Far North

At the island’s southern tip, South Pointe Park has beach access, a splash zone for children, and restrooms, and closes at sunset. At the other end, North Beach Oceanside Park, from 79th to 86th Streets, contains Bark Beach, where dogs are allowed.

Off the Island

Crandon Park on Key Biscayne has two miles of sand sheltered by an offshore sandbar and a 1949 carousel; parking is $7 plus tax from Monday to Thursday and $10 from Friday to Sunday.

Another carries more history than any gallery on the list. Historic Virginia Key Beach Park opened in August 1945 as Dade County’s “Colored Only” beach. The City of Miami closed it in 1982, citing maintenance costs; it entered the National Register of Historic Places in June 2002 and reopened in February 2008.

Flags and Lifeguards

Miami Beach posts colored flags on its lifeguard towers, and the code is worth thirty seconds. Ocean Rescue gives it as follows: green for calm water, yellow for moderate surf or currents, red for high surf or strong currents, double red for water closed to the public, and purple for dangerous marine life. The page does not state lifeguard hours; swim near a staffed tower.

Turtles Had It First

The sand fairs are tenants of a nesting beach. Sea turtle season in Miami-Dade runs from May 1 to October 31, so the tents rise just after it ends. In season the city’s permit conditions bar heavy equipment from the beach and event lighting after 9 pm, and Lummus Park is lit with turtle-friendly LEDs. The politics of the sand are on the host city page.

Pools, for Those Who Prefer Edges

The one day pass verified for this guide is at The Standard Spa, on Belle Isle along the Venetian Causeway: ResortPass lists pool access from $175, with the pool open from 9 am to sunset. The public alternative is Flamingo Park, at 11th Street and Jefferson Avenue, with a lap pool and a running track; fees for non-residents were not captured.

A swimming pool seen from above, ringed by palms and pink umbrellas
The pool at the Grand Beach Hotel, one of Art Basel’s official hotel partners. Photo: Grand Beach Hotel Miami.

What to pack

One Bag, Three Climates

A day of Art Week passes through three climates: an exhibition hall, a tent on a beach, and a terrace after dark. The suitcase has to answer all three, and the bag carried into the fair has to be small.

No published dress guide was consulted for what follows. It is arithmetic from the weather and the map.

The packing list

The Hall

The convention center is the long day: public hours run from 11 am to 6 pm, most of them standing. Shoes are the decision that matters. A light layer earns its place indoors, then again at the exit, where it is already dark.

The bag is the other constraint. Miami Living Magazine’s 2026 guide gives a maximum bag size of 16 by 8 by 16 inches at Art Basel Miami Beach, and says backpacks are not admitted. That is a single secondary source; confirm with the organizer.

The Tents

Untitled Art and InScope stand on the beach itself, off Ocean Drive, with the Atlantic and its easterly breeze beside them. Dress for sand and for wind. Thin heels are a commitment; a hat needs a reason to stay on. The walk between the two fairs, four blocks along Lummus Park, is out of doors, so sunglasses travel too.

The Evening

With lows near 68°F and a steady breeze off the water, a Miami Beach evening in December is a light-jacket evening. One day in five is wet, and the shell at the bottom of the bag is the difference between a dinner and a doorway. For where the evenings go, see the parties page.

Art Deco hotels along Ocean Drive, Miami Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami Beach. Lummus Park and the two sand fairs are across the street. Photo: chensiyuan, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA.

Getting there and around

The Causeway Question

Art Week is spread over an island and a mainland with a bay between them, and almost all of it can be reached for $2.25 or for nothing. The city’s 2026 Art Week transport plan had not been published by October 5. What follows separates year-round services, checked against their operators, from Art Week extras, which are known only from 2025.

From the Airport, and Around, Without a Car. Read on the operators’ own pages on October 5, 2026, except where a row credits Premier Guide Miami, a local listings site. Schedules change; check the operator on the day.
ServiceRouteHoursFareSource
MIA MoverTerminal, level 3, between the Dolphin and Flamingo garages, to the Miami Intermodal Center: rental cars, Metrorail, Tri-Rail, and buses24 hours, per Premier Guide Miami Single sourceFreeMiami International Airport
Metrorail Orange LineAirport station to Government Center, Brickell, Vizcaya, and Coconut Grove. Weekdays direct; on weekends an airport shuttle train to Earlington Heights, then a change5 am to midnight daily, every 15 minutes$2.25Miami-Dade Transit
Miami Beach Airport Express, route 150Airport Metrorail station to Miami Beach, from 41st Street to South Pointe Drive6 am to 11:40 pm daily, every 30 minutes$2.25Miami International Airport
Tri-RailAirport station north to Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach; the line ends at Mangonia ParkDaily; see the timetable$2.50 to $5.00, per Premier Guide Miami Single sourceTri-Rail for the route
MetromoverThree downtown loops, Omni, Inner, and Brickell, with 21 stations5:30 am to 10 pm daily; every 90 seconds at rush hour, every 3 minutes otherwiseFreeMiami-Dade Transit
Miami Beach trolleyFour loops on the island: South Beach, Middle Beach, Collins Express, North Beach8 am to 11 pm daily, about every 20 minutesFreeCity of Miami Beach
Miami Beach water taxiMaurice Gibb Memorial Park, 18th Street and Purdy Avenue in Sunset Harbour, to the Venetian Marina, 1635 North Bayshore Drive, Miami; about 20 minutesMonday to Friday, 7 am to 7:30 pm; hourly, then half-hourly from 4:30 pm. No weekends or federal holidaysFreeCity of Miami Beach

Paying

One fare covers a chain of rides. Miami-Dade Transit charges $2.25 on rail and bus, with free transfers between them, and sells a one-day pass at $5.65 and a seven-day pass at $29.25. Metrorail gates take contactless bank cards and phone wallets; the airport points arriving passengers to the EASY Card machines in the Intermodal Center.

Route One: MIA to the Convention Center

  1. On level 3 of the terminal, board the free MIA Mover to the Miami Intermodal Center.
  2. At the airport Metrorail station, take route 150, the Miami Beach Airport Express: $2.25, every 30 minutes, last departure listed at 11:40 pm.
  3. The airport gives the bus’s Miami Beach stretch as 41st Street to South Pointe Drive. Premier Guide Miami puts it on Collins Avenue from 41st Street south. Single source The convention center lies between those ends; its own directions name Miami-Dade Transit stops at 17th Street, the center itself, and City Hall, without route numbers.
  4. From the stop, walk, or ride the free trolley, which the convention center says serves its doors.

Total fare: $2.25. The operator’s stop list for route 150 could not be opened, so confirm the stop with the driver.

Route Two: MIA to PAMM and the Downtown Fairs

  1. MIA Mover to the Miami Intermodal Center, as above.
  2. Metrorail Orange Line to Government Center, $2.25. Premier Guide Miami gives 15 to 20 minutes to the downtown core. Single source
  3. At Government Center, change to the free Metromover and take the Omni Loop for PAMM, also on Premier Guide Miami’s account; Miami-Dade’s station pages could not be opened to confirm the stop. Single source

Two cautions, both from Miami-Dade Transit. On Saturday and Sunday, which is two of the fair’s three public days, the Orange Line runs to the airport only as a shuttle from Earlington Heights, so the trip takes one more change. And the Metromover stops at 10 pm, two hours before Metrorail does.

The Other Airport

Fort Lauderdale’s airport lists a Tri-Rail shuttle, Brightline, and Broward County Transit buses among its public options. Tri-Rail’s fares rose this October, according to the reporting cited on the last-minute page, so the range in the table may predate the increase; Tri-Rail’s own fare calculator is the authority. Taxis and ride apps collect on the arrivals level at Miami International; no official fare to Miami Beach was obtained, so none is printed.

On the Beach

The Miami Beach Trolley is free and runs from 8 am to 11 pm, seven days a week, about every 20 minutes on each of four routes: the South Beach Loop, the Middle Beach Loop, the Collins Express, and the North Beach Loop. It does not leave the island. In 2025 the city extended service to midnight for four days of Art Week.

Citi Bike Miami has more than 160 stations. A 30-minute ride costs $6.95 and a day pass $24. Riders must be 18.

Across the Bay

The useful novelty is a boat. Since January 20, 2026, Miami Beach has run a free water taxi on weekdays between Maurice Gibb Memorial Park, at 18th Street and Purdy Avenue in Sunset Harbour, and the Venetian Marina at 1635 North Bayshore Drive in Miami. It sails hourly from 7 am to 4:30 pm and half-hourly until 7:30 pm, takes about 20 minutes, and does not run on weekends.

During Art Week 2025 the city ran a much larger version: up to seven boats every 10 to 15 minutes from 10 am to midnight, weekend included, with free shuttles every 15 minutes, one of them running from the convention center to the Design District along the shoulders of the Julia Tuttle Causeway. The city’s page still describes that edition. The 2026 schedule is Not yet announced. Who pays is part of this year’s lease talks: the Miami Herald, as syndicated by AOL, reported in July that the city asked Art Basel for $100,000 toward the service.

Traffic, Without Numbers

Causeway delays and rideshare surge pricing during Art Week are the subject of much anecdote and no published data that this guide could find. It therefore prints no travel times. The evidence is indirect: a city that puts buses on a highway shoulder and seven boats on the bay is not expecting the roads to cope.

Two venues add their own crowds this year. Hard Rock Stadium has Usher and Chris Brown on December 3, 5, and 6. The Kaseya Center, beside PAMM downtown, has Miami Heat home games on December 1 and 3 and Rawayana concerts on December 5 and 6.

On parking, the convention center lists its garage, on levels 4 and 5, at a $20 flat fee, open from 6 am to 1 am. Miami Living Magazine’s guide adds a capacity of about 800 spaces. Single source

Between the clusters, once in town. Year-round services as published by their operators; Art Week extras are the 2025 pattern and had not been confirmed for 2026 by October 5. Confirm with the City of Miami Beach before relying on them.
BetweenYear-round optionArt Week extra (2025 pattern)
Convention center and the sand fairs at 8th and 12th StreetsFree trolley, South Beach Loop, 8 am to 11 pm; Citi Bike; the Beachwalk on footFree South Beach Art Shuttle every 15 minutes
Convention center and Mid-BeachFree trolley, Middle Beach Loop or Collins ExpressFree Mid Beach Art Shuttle every 15 minutes
Miami Beach and the mainland waterfrontFree water taxi, weekdays 7 am to 7:30 pm, Purdy Avenue to 1635 North Bayshore DriveUp to seven boats, 10 am to midnight daily (Sunday to 10 pm), with a shuttle from the dock to the convention center
Convention center and the Design DistrictBy car across the Julia Tuttle Causeway; no free service foundFree shuttle to NE 38th Street and NE 1st Court every 15 minutes
Within downtown MiamiFree Metromover, 5:30 am to 10 pmNone listed
Downtown and Coconut Grove (Pinta Miami, Vizcaya)Metrorail, 5 am to midnight, $2.25None listed
Allapattah, Wynwood, the Design District, and Little RiverBy car or ride app; no free link foundNone listed
Miami and Fort Lauderdale or West Palm BeachBrightline from MiamiCentralNone listed

The planning rule that follows from the table is the one on the itineraries: one side of the bay per day.

Start a Miami trip on My Biennale

Where to eat

Tables Near the Fairs

Every restaurant below was confirmed as operating, from its own website, in October 2026. The fair lifts Miami Beach hotel rates to their highest of the year, CoStar reported of the 2023 edition, and dining rooms can be expected to follow: reserve wherever a restaurant takes bookings, and do it before flying.

South of Fifth

Joe’s Stone Crab, at 11 Washington Avenue, was founded in 1913 and opens only for the stone crab season; its 114th was set to begin on October 16. Dinner starts at 5 pm nightly. A block up Washington Avenue, Stubborn Seed is chef Jeremy Ford’s tasting-menu room.

South Beach

Macchialina, at 810 Alton Road, makes its pasta by hand and opens for dinner only. For the opposite register, La Sandwicherie, at 229 14th Street, is a French sandwich counter that has traded since 1988 and is open daily from 7 am to 5 am. It is two streets north of the Untitled tent and solves most problems an art fair can cause. Sweet Liberty, a bar at 237-B 20th Street, near the convention center, pours daily from 4 pm to 5 am.

Design District

Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink, at 130 NE 40th Street, has cooked seasonal American food over a wood fire in the district since 2007 and is one street from ICA Miami. Mandolin Aegean Bistro, Greek and Turkish, is just north at 4312 NE 2nd Avenue.

Wynwood, Downtown, Little Havana

Zak the Baker, at 295 NW 26th Street, is the bakery and café for a Margulies or Bakehouse morning, open from 7 am to 5 pm and closed on Saturday. Verde, at PAMM, keeps the museum’s hours and its Tuesday and Wednesday closures. And for a meal that has nothing to do with art, Versailles, at 3555 SW 8th Street on Calle Ocho, has served Cuban food since 1971, until midnight or later every night.

The Michelin List

Fifteen Miami restaurants hold Michelin stars, as listed by the Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau from the Michelin Guide: one with two stars and 14 with one. Five sit in a fair district. Stubborn Seed and Tambourine Room are on Miami Beach; L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon, Cote Miami, and Le Jardinier are in the Design District, ICA Miami’s neighborhood.

Miami’s starred restaurants, as listed by the Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau from the Michelin Guide, read October 5, 2026. The page does not state the guide year. Stars change each year: confirm on the Michelin Guide before booking around one. Neighborhoods marked * are not on the bureau’s page and come from The Miami Guide or Time Out Miami.
RestaurantStarsNeighborhoodCuisineNoted on the page
L’Atelier de Joël RobuchonTwoDesign DistrictFrenchThe only two-star restaurant in Florida, the page says
ArieteOneCoconut Grove*New American
Boia DeOneNear Little HaitiItalian, by way of modern American
Cote MiamiOneDesign DistrictKorean steakhouse
ElcieloOneBrickellColombian
EntreNosOneNot shownNot shownGreen Star
HidenOneNot shownOmakase
Le Jardinier MiamiOneDesign District*Seasonal French
Los FélixOneCoconut Grove*MexicanGreen Star
MutraOneNot shownMiddle EasternDescribed as the first kosher restaurant to earn a star
OgawaOneLittle River*Edomae-style omakase
ShingoOneCoral GablesOmakase
Stubborn SeedOneMiami BeachContemporaryGreen Star
The Surf Club RestaurantOneSurfsideContinental
Tambourine Room by Tristan BrandtOneMiami BeachFrench and Asian

Bib Gourmand: Good Food, Fair Prices

The Bib Gourmand is Michelin’s mark for quality cooking at good value, and in a week when everything else is priced for the fair it is the more useful list. The 2026 selection has 18 Miami restaurants, four of them new, according to the visitors bureau. By neighborhood:

  • Miami Beach: Lucali, pizza, in Sunset Harbour. It is the only Bib on the island, in the neighborhood where the free water taxi docks.
  • Design District and Buena Vista: Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink; Mandolin Aegean Bistro, Greek and Turkish; El Turco, Turkish, in Upper Buena Vista. All three are close to ICA Miami.
  • Downtown: Tâm Tâm, Vietnamese, in PAMM’s part of town.
  • Allapattah: Hometown Barbecue, in the Rubell Museum’s district, just west of Wynwood.
  • Little River: La Natural, pizza, among the galleries.
  • Coconut Grove: Chug’s Diner, Cuban American, for a Pinta Miami or Vizcaya day.
  • Upper East Side: Double Luck, Chinese; Phuc Yea, Vietnamese.
  • Little Havana: Sanguich De Miami, Cuban sandwiches.
  • Coral Gables: Zitz Sum; Tinta Y Café; Bachour; and To Be Determined, a wine bar whose name is not a placeholder.
  • Farther out: Cotoa, Ecuadorian, in North Miami; Barra Callao, Peruvian seafood, in North Miami Beach; Ghee Indian Kitchen in Kendall.

Near a fair, then: one on Miami Beach, six within reach of the Downtown, Wynwood, and Design District circuit, and one in Coconut Grove. The rest are a deliberate trip.

Rooftops

The bureau also keeps a list of rooftop restaurants and bars. Two are on South Beach: The Roof at The Esmé, at the Esmé Hotel, and Watr at the 1 Rooftop, at 1 Hotel South Beach. The largest group is in Brickell: Rosa Sky, Seia, Amazónico, and Sugar, at EAST Miami. Downtown has Yamashiro, at the Gale Miami Hotel & Residences. Coconut Grove has Bellini, at Mr. C Miami, and Level 6. Cebada is in Coral Gables, and The Rooftop at The Citadel is in Little River. With sunset at 5:29 pm, a rooftop in Art Week is a night view.

Booking in Art Week

No restaurant’s Art Week policy was verified for this guide. The general rule holds: starred rooms and anything on a roof book out first, private events can take whole dining rooms on the fair’s opening nights, and a lunch table is usually easier to get than a dinner one. Confirm hours directly; many kitchens change them for the week.

Other Guides

Local guide · since 2011

The Miami Guide

Its favorites, as picked by The Miami Guide: Amara at Paraiso (Edgewater), Pao by Paul Qui (Miami Beach), Ariete (Coconut Grove), Zuma (Downtown), Amazónico (Brickell), Cafe Prima Pasta and Sushi Bichi (North Beach), El Turco, Le Jardinier and Torno Subito (Design District), Eos Garden (MiMo), The Mexican (Brickell), Tintin (Little Havana), and Yamashiro Miami (Downtown).

The Miami Guide: restaurants

Ranked list · updated September 3, 2026

Time Out Miami

Its 29 best restaurants open with Sunny’s Steakhouse in Little River, Boia De, The Surf Club Restaurant, Tâm Tâm, and Buccan. Five addresses on this page appear on it: Macchialina at 8, Joe’s Stone Crab at 12, Michael’s Genuine at 13, Stubborn Seed at 14, and Mandolin at 15.

Time Out: best restaurants in Miami

Official lists · visitors bureau

Greater Miami CVB

The bureau republishes the Michelin selections with a paragraph on each room, and maintains the rooftop list used above.

StarsBib GourmandRooftops

One line for the bill: Miami Beach adds a 2% resort tax to food and drink sold in restaurants and bars, on top of state and county taxes.

Sun and water

Brief Notes on Staying Upright

No UV figure was sourced for this guide, and the advice does not need one. Apply sunscreen before the walk to the sand fairs, not after. Carry water into the tents and the hall. Take the shade when a queue offers it.

In the sea, read the flag on the nearest tower before going in, and treat purple and double red as instructions. The Ocean Rescue hotline is 305-673-7714.

Sources. Checked October 4 and 5, 2026. Sun and weather: US Naval Observatory; WeatherSpark; National Park Service; City of Miami Beach, Rising Above. Beaches and rules: City of Miami Beach pages for Lummus Park, the Beachwalk, and Ocean Rescue; Miami-Dade Parks; Florida State Parks; Historic Virginia Key Beach Park. Transport: Miami International Airport; Miami Beach Trolley; Miami Beach water taxi; Art Week free transportation, 2025; Citi Bike Miami; Metromover. The bag rule and garage fee come from Miami Living Magazine alone. Restaurants: each establishment’s own website. Michelin stars, Bib Gourmand, and rooftops: the Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau’s star, Bib Gourmand, and rooftop pages, read October 5, 2026. Other lists: The Miami Guide; Time Out Miami. Not sourced, and so not printed: taxi fares, causeway travel times, lifeguard hours, a UV index, and beach chair prices. Corrections: contact@biennale.nyc.